Objectives

The introduction of the internationally-successful EITI model offers new opportunities to increase transparency and dialogue in the German extractive industry. The German Federal Government is using the D-EITI to send a signal about its international natural resources policy – a signal aimed at strengthening developing and emerging countries in the common fight against corruption and at promoting transparency and accountability in their transactions with natural resources. This step is also intended to encourage other countries to participate in the international transparency agenda.

To match the special national characteristics of its extractive industries, each country can specify its own objectives and priorities for the EITI-implementation, always on the basis of the mandatory EITI standard. The objectives are elaborated by the MSG. In order to implement them, a work plan is specified. It hast to be approved by the MSG. The MSG of the D-EITI has adopted seven objectives for the implementation of the EITI in Germany. These objectives can be divided into three thematic areas:

3 topics, 7 objectives

Development of an understandable D-EITI report, which promotes dialogue about the national extractive sector
  • Produce timely reports that are understandable and accessible to the general public and based on a transparent, open and innovative EITI process in Germany.
  • Process contextual information concerning the German extractive sector, with a view to promoting a broad debate on resource policy that includes aspects of sustainability (economic, environmental, and social).
  • Engage in understandable, commensurate and increasingly comprehensive reporting to the general public in compliance with the EITI Standard and in harmony with the EU Accounting and Transparency Directives. Concomitantly, additional value shall be generated
  • Ensure ongoing implementation of the D-EITI with the intended multi-stakeholder model while building capacity for broad-scale public debate.
read more
Sharing of knowledge and experiences regarding the multi-stakeholder process in a federal country
  • Share experience from the multi-stakeholder process, in particular with respect to participatory democracy, citizen engagement and knowledge transfer, and also with regard to EITI implementation in a federal state.
  • Substantially enhance Germany’s credibility as regards its political and financial support for EITI.
read more
Contribution to the development of the EITI standard as a global transparency standard
  • Contribute to the further development of the EITI Standard and its implementation and acceptance as a de-facto global standard, to support the global striving for transparency and accountability as well as the fight against corruption in the extractive sector.
read more

Ziele

Die Einführung des international erfolgreichen EITI-Modells bietet neue Chancen für mehr Transparenz und Dialog im deutschen Rohstoffsektor. Mit D-EITI setzt die Bundesregierung in ihrer internationalen Rohstoffpolitik ein Signal, um Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländer im gemeinsamen Kampf gegen Korruption und für Transparenz und Rechenschaftspflicht im Zusammenhang mit Rohstoffgeschäften zu stärken. Mit diesem Schritt sollen zudem weitere Länder ermutigt werden, sich in die internationale Transparenzagenda einzubringen.

Um den Besonderheiten des jeweiligen nationalen Rohstoffsektors gerecht zu werden, hat jedes Land die Möglichkeit, seine Ziele und Prioritäten bei der nationalen EITI-Umsetzung selbst zu bestimmen. Grundlage ist dabei stets der verpflichtende EITI-Standard. Die Ziele werden von der Multi-Stakeholder-Gruppe (MSG) ausgearbeitet. Zu ihrer Umsetzung wird ein Arbeitsplan festgelegt,  welcher von der MSG gebilligt werden muss. Die MSG der D-EITI hat sieben Ziele für die Umsetzung der EITI in Deutschland beschlossen. Diese lassen sich drei Themenbereichen zuordnen:

3 Themen, 7 Ziele

Erarbeitung eines verständlichen D-EITI-Berichts, der den Dialog über den nationalen Rohstoffsektor fördert.
  • Eine fristgerechte und für die breite Öffentlichkeit verständliche und zugängliche Berichterstattung zu gewährleisten, die auf einem transparenten, offenen und innovativen EITI-Prozess in Deutschland basiert.
  • Die Aufbereitung von Kontextinformationen über den deutschen Rohstoffsektor zur Förderung einer breiten rohstoffpolitischen Diskussion, die auch Aspekte der Nachhaltigkeit (Wirtschaft, Umwelt und Soziales) beinhaltet.
  • Eine schrittweise auszubauende, nachvollziehbare und verhältnismäßige Berichterstattung an die Bevölkerung zu erreichen, die dem EITI-Standard entspricht, und mit den EU-Bilanz- und Transparenzrichtlinien harmoniert. Gleichzeitig soll ein Mehrwert geschaffen werden.
  • Die dauerhafte Umsetzung der D-EITI mit dem vorgesehenen Multi-Stakeholder-Modell sicherzustellen und durch den Aufbau von Kapazitäten eine breite Diskussion in der Bevölkerung zu ermöglichen.
mehr lesen
Weitergabe von Wissen und Erfahrungen zum Multistakeholder-Prozess in einem föderalen Land
  • Erfahrungen aus dem Multi-Stakeholder-Prozess weiterzugeben, insbesondere in Bezug auf demokratische Teilhabe, Bürgernähe und Wissensvernetzung, sowie aus der EITI-Umsetzung in einem föderalen Land.
  • Die Glaubwürdigkeit Deutschlands bei der politischen und finanziellen Unterstützung der EITI deutlich zu erhöhen.
mehr lesen
Beitrag zur Entwicklung des EITI-Standards als globale Transparenznorm
  • Einen Beitrag zur Weiterentwicklung des EITI-Standards, seiner Anwendung und Akzeptanz als tatsächlich globalen Standard zu leisten, um das weltweite Streben nach Transparenz und Rechenschaftspflicht und den Kampf gegen Korruption im Zusammenhang mit Rohstoffgeschäften zu unterstützen.
mehr lesen